Doyle Sails dominate Tanner and Tauranga Cup

Doyle P Class sails have one speed: FAST.

Sailors know that when yachts are the same, sails are an opportunity to gain a speed advantage. Doyle Sails are your advantage. Made in New Zealand, available in four designs.

The Tanner Cup was raced in the typical onshore sea breeze of up to 20knots with strong outgoing tides in the superb setting of Charteris Bay, Christchurch. The fresh wind against tide, delivered a choppy harbour and a real test for the 16 P Class sailors representing their provinces.

At the end of the Tanner Cup all 6 races were won by Sean Kensington from Kohimarama Yacht Club with Nicola Hume from Murrays Bay Yacht Club improving throughout the entire regatta to secure first girl and 5th overall and 50% of the top 20 all sailing with Doyle Sails.

The Tanner Cup is a New Zealand Youth inter-provincial sailing regatta where one 17 year old sailor is selected from each region to compete against all other New Zealand regions in P Class yachts. The competition is named after George Tanner who donated the trophy for the inaugural event in 1945. Many of New Zealand’s top sailors hold Tanner Cup wins on their resume including Sir Russell Coutts, Dean Barker, Ray Davies and David Barnes.

Doyle Sails proudly builds sails for a large number of New Zealand’s top P Class sailors including Nicola Hume, with our One Design resident expert Andrew Lechte at the forefront of P Class sail design.

The 2020/21 season saw the addition of two new P Class sails added to the national championship winning range. These new sails bring in the latest development in design with radial clews.

The Tauranga Cup started immediately after the Tanner Cup as the P Class New Zealand Nationals event with a total of 36 sailors contesting the Tauranga Cup.

The Tauranga Cup is the New Zealand nation championship for under 17 year old sailors in the P Class dinghies, with the first regatta being held in 1940 in Tauranga, giving the regatta its name.

Conditions were again very similar for the first 3 races, with the final days delivering no wind, too much wind and shifty conditions. However, with the courses being set inshore, it made the cold, 20 knot winds achievable in very flat water.

The Tauranga Cup was again won by Sean Kensington, taking the elusive double (when a sailor wins both the Tanner and Tauranga Cup in one year) with Nicola Hume again continuing to improve, finishing 4th overall and taking home the Naomi James Trophy as first girl.

For more information on One Design sails, join us here and select your chosen class.

Scroll to Top